Featured Member: Galicia2

Submitted to News

Today we're getting to know @galicia2, Creator's Studio Superfan and one of the original members in this community. 


Why did you join Creator´s Studio?

I was a commercial painter for more than 30 years so I was looking for new products and found Creator´s Studio where you can find and even try new products I liked the site and joined!!

What´s your favorite part of the Creator´s Studio community?

Seeing other people creations and learning from them, you really have a good bunch of creative people here.

How would you describe yourself/occupation to a complete stranger?

I have been married "next month" will be 50 years, have 3 beautiful kids and 2 grandkids and a crazy dog that thinks she is a carpenter because she takes a lot of my tools and wood from my shop. I´m retired and love to build things out of wood and also love painting.

Prize-winning Best New Build in the Bird Feeder Challenge 


What creative areas do you like to focus on?

Anything with wood, different types of wood, stains and finishes.

What´s your favorite Rust-Oleum product? How has it helped with your DIY projects?

My shop is never without a can of interior/exterior can of Zinsser stain killer, I use it as a base for all my work, also all spray colors and clear coats.

What interest you most about DIY projects?

To me DIY gives you the opportunity to create and give form to ideas that you come up with.

What´s the best DIY project you have completed and how did you accomplish?

It has to be my rowing boat I have other projects that I am proud of but the boat is the best, I made it with no plans and a lot of changes along the way.

What´s the most difficult project you have tackled?

Complete kitchen renovation I made for a friend of mine.

If you could create any type of project (with no limitations ), what would you design and why?

A 40 feet wood boat, because of my early years as a fisherman.

Tell us something about yourself that that most people don´t know about you.

I was born in Spain. In 1967 I was working in South Africa as a fisherman on a Spanish fishing trawler, in 1969 I was drafted on the Spanish navy for 21 months, then I took a job in a Spanish fishing trawler to the coast of NJ, I met my wife in there and in October 1971 we married and that started my American life.  

What's the best advice that anyone has ever given you?

If you don´t learn anything from your mistakes don´t make them again.

What books are on your nightstand right now?

I don't like to read any books.

What´s your all-time favorite food?

Seafood Spanish paella. 

New gates


We enjoy seeing all your projects in the community; thanks for letting us get to know you, @galicia2