“Green Light to Support Veterans” or “Green Light a Vet”

Submitted to Community Chat

First, by definition, someone on active duty is actually a Veteran – someone who has served in the Armed Services for one or more moments. The current percentage of U.S. citizens in uniformed military service is at the lowest point since about 1840.

Second, “military retirement” usually means “forced career change.” After I retired from the U.S. Navy I entered the labor market as an accountant. As an accountant, I specialized in inventory valuation and purchasing concepts. Trying to answer what to buy, how much to buy, when to buy it, and how much to sell it for is fun. Shortly after high school I worked for Montgomery Wards for about a year. Then I worked for J.C. Penny’s for about two weeks – inventory time. During college, I worked for Sears Roebuck on “receiving day” at a catalog order store doing heavy lifting as all the other employees were women – my Wife worked there and I was kind of “drafted.” In the days of old and bold, over 40% of the total floor space of the store was inventory storage not accessible by the customer. Today it is usually less than 5% and seldom over 10% of the total floor space. In the big box store look over head. Look behind your Walmart today and look behind it the day before Thanksgiving. Maybe one or two trailers today. Ten or more trailers daily over the Christmas sales period. These trailers will be the inventory holding area due to massive sales activities. Holding inventory costs money. Time has a financial value.